Skip to content

Pursuit of Substance

April 24, 2010

I have a lecture series at Johns Hopkins where we bring in seven to eight hundred school kids each month. I talk to them about medicine, neurosurgery, what I was like at their age, and their potential. Usually, near the end of our time together, I stop and ask them questions before I give them the opportunity to ask me questions.
‘I ask, ‘How many of you can name five NBA players?’ all of the hands go up. Even the girls. So I ask, ‘Who can name for me five movie stars?’ Not a problem in the world. ‘Five singers?’ No problem.
‘How about five Nobel Prize winners?’ Forget it. It’s not gonna happen.
‘What about the capital of Malaysia?’ Can’t do it.
‘What’s a microprocessor?’ I asked not too long ago. One young fellow out of eight hundred raised his hand. He was so proud of himself. I said, ‘Okay, tell us, what is it?’
‘He said, ‘A microprocessori s a tiny processor.’ And that was the extent of his knowledge on the subject. Extraordinarily superficial knowledge. and you know, this is what we must battle, all of us who have had the opportunity and benefit of education.
‘What are we fighting against in our culture? Look at what’s emphasized. Sports. Entertainment. Lifestyles of the rich and famous. The very same things that other great nations in history became enamored with–before their falls. Greece. Rome. Egypt. Go back and read their histories–they did exactly the same things.

— The Big Picture by Ben Carson

The Ouroboros

The Ouroboros - an eonian symbol of eternal recurrence and renewal

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 24, 2010 4:46 pm

    That’s a Great post as always, it is great to have the chance to read a good quality article and Interesting topic with many great points.

    I wanted to say thank you for taking time to share this information.

Leave a Reply

