Skip to content

Monotonous Magazines

June 8, 2009

Listening to: Republica – Ready to Go

I bought my first issue of US Vogue about a month ago while a Tennis trip to Zagreb. I have only really started to follow fashion about two months ago, so no, I am not a fashion expert in any sense. However if I see a piece I like, I say so, and if I see a piece I do not like I say so as well.

So… getting back to the point. I bought US Vogue the May issue I believe – the celebrated MODELS’ COVER. For those who are not aware, a model on the cover of US Vogue nowadays is a miraculous thing… and multiple models, whoa JACKPOT! So I bought it expecting to be quite impressed with an exclusive piece of investigatory work into the life of models, as the cover sentences suggested but no… of course not.

Yes of course there were a couple of new pieces of information present. Such as the models expressing the harsh realities of modelling and the unforgiving criticism (more like insults TBH) they are forced to endure. An interesting thing that struck me was a comment Karlie Kloss made something along the lines of this, “I remember a casting agent telling me I was too thin and for some reason, that really struck me.. and it hurt.” This comment really goes a long way in expressing the challenges all women face: they criticize us when we are too fat, and when we are too thin. So basically, I say fuck ’em. (:  But besides the point…

So I opened US Vogue.. There was maybe 8 pages worth of interesting material. Then… THE END. WTF? I spent like 10 dollars on this? WTF?! Then I started to realize: all magazines contain the same material, simply recycled to fit the attitude they are trying to exude and pry into the insecurities and at times, (but rarely) interests of their target audience. Don’t believe me? Let’s observe.

US VOGUE – MAY 2009

Point One: All magazines try to lure in their audiences by using exciting buzz words. Look for words like: shocking, sneak, sensational, exclusive and so on. The articles in US VOGUE MAY were truly not that interesting the “summer fashion tips from Giselle, Naomi and Karen” were not even memorable… seriously I do not remember them at all.

SEVENTEEN – MAY 2009
 
First of all, observe Taylor Swift’s face. EHH, disaster… what did they do to this pretty woman?
Point 2: Besides that,  the whole page is dedicated to achieving “better looks” (pretty vain) as fast as possible… then in small, in the corner there is some sex advice that could change your life… mmm… doesn’t something involving sexual safety hold higher importance than something involving a glowing face? Hmm… just a thought.

Marie Claire US – JUNE 2009

I have about 6 months more left of my subscription to Marie Claire US  so I shall enjoy it. 😉
Point 3: This month’s cover spits out phrases along the same tune as any of flipping women’s magazine this month or around this season: BIKINI BOD, is the most prevalent among the mags.
In regards to the whole “bikini body” business Maria Wolf Ahmad said something really smart, “If you’re a one-piece kind of woman hankering for a bikini-ready body, I’ve got news for you: EVERY body is bikini ready! Got tits of some sort? Got a crotch to cover? That’s what a bikini is for! When fashion magazines talk about “a bikini body”, they’re just selling you more insecurity.” One can see the rest of that post here.

By simply looking at the covers of these magazines it is clear to see that all of these magazines are truly not in touch with their target audiences. They are all consistently pumping out recycled material, all along the same tune: you are not good enough, buy our STUFF, we are better than you, BUY OUR STUFF, we are exciting, new, hip and will make you more exciting, new, hip (but not as much as we are ;)) ) but just buy our stuff!

Nevertheless… this month US VOGUE has an interview and a couple spreads of Rafael Nadal, I cannot resist and will probably buy it. *sigh*

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Nattty permalink
    June 9, 2009 4:23 pm

    I completely agree.
    You have really made some great points.

    I love the bikini bod quote!

  2. Lola permalink
    June 23, 2009 7:31 am

    Depth and reason used to be easily found in Marie Claire, now it has been substituted by patriarchy and ideals – just like most any other typical “women’s” magazine.
    The span of about 20 pages that does actually still possess depth and IS interesting is worth it still though.
    Your blog is thought-provoking.

Leave a Reply

